Newtown Literary Contributor: M.J. Golias

Writer M.J. Golias’s poem “The Mother and Daughter Don’t Live There Anymore” was featured in Issue #6 of Newtown Literary. We interviewed her about her writing, and her answers are below. 

What is your relationship to Queens?
I moved to Astoria after grad school. I worked as an ESL teacher in Corona before I transferred to Manhattan. I picked Astoria just for its Greek connection and proximity to Manhattan.

How would you describe the writing you do?
It’s funny, but my workspace is my laptop in bed at night when I get the chance to write. I have a toddler and a now newborn.

I did my MFA in poetry, but after the birth of my first child I found myself wordy, and so I continued writing more creative nonfiction and short stories. However, I do continue to revise my poems and manuscript and send them out in hopes of publication.

What inspires you?
Others’ writing inspires me, as well as traveling. I came to writing just by reading. I came to poetry by ear and wanting to mess with the traditional narrative. As readers I think we all look for narrative, but I like how poetry can alter that way we come to it.

What writing project(s) are you currently working on?
Currently I’m unable to write, but I hope to finally finish a short story I had started. And I plan to write more poems again. Hopefully soon.

Thanks, M.J.!

Readers, mark your calendars:

