Newtown Literary Contributor: Laura Grow-Nyberg

Writer Laura Grow-Nyberg’s story “Forsan miseros meliora sequentur” was featured in Issue #5 of Newtown Literary. We interviewed her about her writing, and her answers are below. You can read more from Laura on her blog, or follow her on Twitter @LauraGrowNyberg. 

What is your relationship to Queens?
My husband and I moved to Queens in 2009, not long after we got married. We lived in Astoria until last year, when we bought a house in Rego Park

How would you describe the writing you do?
It’s all “genre”, all the time. I’ll try to write about romance or family dynamics or a coming-of-age, but then aliens attack or a ghost shows up or somehow time travel gets involved. If people want to read metaphors into that, I’m all for it, but really it’s more like, “You know what would make this story a lot more fun? Nanites!”

How did you come to writing?
I honestly don’t remember. I was one of those kids who was always making up stories and devouring books, and I never saw any reason why I shouldn’t.

What inspires you?
Other people’s stories. More than a few of my story ideas have seeds in what, if I’m being honest, I’ll call fanfiction, but as I play with characters and settings, they get so far away from the original properties that I think the fandoms would be more angry with me posting them on Archive of Our Own – “X doesn’t act like that!” Well, no. She’s “Y” now.

Dreams can also have an influence, but I’m not going to bore you by talking about last night’s dreams.

What does it mean to be a writer in Queens?
Any time you deal with a multicultural community, you get a window into not just all the cultures that comprise it, but also any multicultural situation in your head: vampires in Philadelphia, an alternate-history Roman Empire, time-traveling to Tenochtitlan, settling in on a space station, or examining the different myths of Santa Claus that exist worldwide. And it’s pretty hard to get more multicultural than Queens.

What writing project(s) are you currently working on?
My book club’s annual holiday party always involves a murder mystery game, and this year I decided I’d write one instead of purchasing it. My premise is that a supervillain has been murdered, and his henchmen have to figure out which of them did it. The party will also be a play-test.

And, finally, my favorite question: What should I be asking you that I didn’t?
You should probably ask me who the killer is, but if I told you that, you wouldn’t want to play!

Thanks, Laura!

Readers, mark your calendars:

Comments are closed.